The Mythical Google Sandbox and How To Escape It

With an article title like this, it almost seems like I am playing the fool, by telling you something doesn’t exist and then telling you that I will show you how to beat that thing I said does not exist. Maybe I am the fool, or maybe, I have something valuable to share with you today. You be the judge.

I Don’t Believe In The Google Sandbox, Dragons or Unicorns…

I was browsing the Digital Point forums earlier, when I came across this quote:
“The Google Sandbox is something that people either believe or don’t believe. It usually means that within the first 6 months – 1 year you won’t get a lot of love from Google.”

http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?p=8286280
I saw the quote shown above and I had a good laugh. Yes, many people believe in the existence of the Google Sandbox, and I am not one of those people. I place the “Google Sandbox” in the same category as the leprechaun… they both make a neat children’s story, but I see no truth in either.

What Is Google Love?

Google love is the imaginary “feeling” that Google has for the websites in its index. The more Google loves a website, the higher that website will rank in the Google search results.

No matter how many search results Google shows for a particular search term, Google will only show a maximum of 1,000 website listings in its search engine result pages (SERPs). However, few people, except nuts like me know that as you go to each consecutive page in Google’s SERPs, the actual number that Google is willing to show you gets smaller with each additional page visited.

For example, I just did a search on the keyword phrase “Google Love”. My default Google settings are set to 100 results. When I first typed the search phrase, Google showed 68,300,000 results, and Google shows me that I can look at ten pages of results. But, when I get to the tenth page in Google’s results, there are only three listings. Google only loves 903 web pages for the search term “Google Love”.

Google has told us that they attribute value to a web page, based on the number of inbound links that page might have. Google Love primarily comes from link popularity, which is derived from inbound links.

~ by Ravi Shanker on March 3, 2009.

2 Responses to “The Mythical Google Sandbox and How To Escape It”

  1. I just came across your blog about SEO and wanted to drop you a note telling you how impressed I was with the information you have posted here. I also have a web site & blog about SEO so I know I’m talking about when I say your site is top-notch! Keep up the great work, you are providing a great resource on the Internet here!

  2. Very nice post, thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

 
